Advisory Board

John B. Patton established an Alumni Council for the Department in 1966. Robert R. Shrock was an early chair. Beginning in 1992 members were permitted who were not alumni, and the name was changed to the Advisory Board. The Board’s by-laws now state the purposes of the Board to be: to advise and aid the Department chair and faculty on long-range planning, policy and program development; to assist in resource development for the Department and to promote relationships between the Department, its alumni, and organizations and individuals outside the University.

Advisory Board, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, 2018-19

The Board has organized various forums on geoscience employment for students and has also tried to aid the Department by applying pressure to the College and University when inter-department and inter-School issues have come up. Board members also organize (and sometimes sponsor) alumni gatherings in locations such as Houston, Denver, Indianapolis, and the San Francisco area. Beginning in 1995, at the urging of Board members Malcolm Boyce, Dan Tudor, Stanley Anderson, and Department Chair Lee Suttner, the Board spearheaded a successful five-year campaign to increase the Department’s endowments. These and other gifts have helped to establish two named Chairs and two named Professorships in addition to funding several graduate fellowships. The Board typically meets on the Bloomington campus in October each year. The 2017-18 Board met on October 13-14, 2017. Members serve 3-year terms, and the current membership is given below. Issues that need to be brought before the Board should be addressed to Jim Brophy, Chair of the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences.

2018-19 Board Members

Randall Bayless
Research Hydrologist, USGS,
Water Mission Area

Stan Carpenter
District Environmental Manager,
Colonial Pipeline Company

Craig Davis
President, INEXS CEO

Pete DeCelles
Professor of Geosciences
University of Arizona

Joel Degenstein
Geologic Advisor, EP Energy (retired)

Jim Farnsworth
Cobalt International Energy (retired)
Operating Partner, Azimuth Capital Management

Katherine H. Freeman
Professor of Geosciences
Pennsylvania State University

John Holbrook
Professor of Geology
Texas Christian University

Robert G. Jones
Executive Director
Indiana Mineral Aggregates Association

Jessica Kogel
Associate Director for Mining
National Institute for Occupational
Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Jeffrey S. Oslund
Anadarko Petroleum
Corporation (retired)

Mary Parke
Manager, Integrated Water Services
Layne Christensen Corporation

Tom Skirvin
Chief Geoscientist
Skirvin Geoscience Consulting

Todd Thompson
Director and State Geologist
Indiana Geological Survey


Emeritus Members

John N. Bubb
Retired, ExxonMobil

Derek G. Fullerton
President, Derton Consulting LLC

Michael J. Graham
President, Bechtel
Environmental Restoration Program

Stephan A. Graham
Professor, Stanford University

Glen B. Hieshima
Strategic Planning Advisor Americas Region
ExxonMobil Exploration Company

Mark S. Leonard
President, Leonard Exploration, Inc.
COO, Global Deepwater Partners

Jayne L. Sieverding
Organizational Capability Manager, Earth Sciences
Chevron Energy Technology Company

Kenneth R. Vance
Anadarko Petroleum Corporation

W. Thomas Straw
Professor Emeritus of Geosciences
Western Michigan University

Honorary Life Member

Stanley Anderson
Houston Exploration Company