Richard Owen Alumni Award

These awards honor distinguished alumni of the Department. They were initiated in 1985 as part of the celebration of the 100th anniversary of the Department, and they are named for Richard Owen, professor of natural philosophy and chemistry at IU from 1864 to 1879.

Robert Owen [photo]

Born in Scotland, he came to New Harmony, Indiana, with his family in 1828 and became part of his father Robert Owen's utopian experiment. He became State Geologist upon the death (from malaria) of his brother, David Dale, in 1860, and he served in the 15th Indiana Volunteers during the Civil War, where he fought in the battles of Fort Donelson and Vicksburg. Richard Owen was commandant of a prison camp in Indianapolis, and was memorialized by Confederate veterans in 1913 for his humane treatment of prisoners. At IU, Owen was the second faculty member to publish a research paper, in 1852 (the first was astronomer Daniel Kirkwood). Owen's geological interests spanned the profession, from paleontology to seismology. He died in 1890 at age 80 from accidental poisoning. Image at right is from the T.C. Steele painting in the Owen Room of the Geology Building, courtesy Indiana University Archives. More information on Richard Owen can be found in Gary Lane's History of the Geology Department.

Award Winners

2014 Stephan Graham
2010 William Bundy
2009 David DesMarais
2008 Mark Leonard
2006 Stephen Wells (BS 1971)
2005 Tom Schull (M.A. 1966)
2004 Priscilla P. Nelson (M.S. 1976)
2003 Roger Cuffey (Ph.D. 1966)
2002 John Bubb (Ph.D. 1963)
2001 William I. Ausich (M.A., Ph.D. 1976)
2000 George M. Nevers (M.A., 1957)
1999 Gerald Johnson (B.S., M.A., Ph.D. 1965)
1998 Carl Smith (M.A. 1969)
1997 Lawrence Taylor (B.S., M.A. 1961)
1997 Malcolm Boyce (M.A., 1956)
1995 Michael Mound (M.A., Ph.D. 1963)
1994 Alan Horowitz (Ph.D. 1957)
1993 Ralph Hunter (B.A. 1957)
1992 Charles Wier (M.A., Ph.D. 1955)
1991 Larry Woodfork (B.S., M.A. 1965)
1990 Robert Frey (M.A., Ph.D. 1969)
1989 Ronald Perkins (M.A., Ph.D. 1962)
1989 Daniel Tudor (B.S., M.A., Ph.D. 1972)
1988 Robert Boyer (M.A. 1952)
1988 George Erickson (M.A. 1949)
1986 Paul Proctor (Ph.D. 1949)
1986 Frank Kottlowski (B.A., M.A., Ph.D. 1951)
1985 John B. Patton (M.A., Ph.D. 1954)
1985 Marion M. Fidlar (B.A., M.A., Ph.D. 1942)
1985 William Thornbury (B.A., Ph.D. 1936)
1985 S. Ross Taylor (Ph. D. 1954)
1985 Robert R. Shrock (B.A., M.A., Ph.D. 1928)