Advisory Board

Earth and Atmospheric Sciences Advisory Board

The Earth and Atmospheric Sciences Advisory Board’s by-laws state their purposes to be: to advise and aid the department chair and faculty on long-range planning, policy and program development; to assist in resource development for the department; and to promote relationships between the department, its alumni, and organizations and individuals outside the university.

The Advisory Board typically meets on the Bloomington campus in October each year. Members serve 3-year terms with the current membership listed below. Issues that need to be brought before the board should be addressed to Jim Brophy, chair of the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences.

Advisory Board, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, 2023-2024

2023-2024 Board Members

Chris Canfield
Environmental Protection Specialist
Colorado Department of Natural Resources

Stan Carpenter (outgoing President)
Colonial Pipeline Company
Director, Environmental

Pete DeCelles
Professor of Geosciences,
University of Arizona

Joel Degenstein
Geologic Advisor, EP Energy (retired)

Robert T. Duncan
Principal Geologist, One Atlas

Jim Farnsworth
Cobalt International Energy (retired)
Azimuth Capital Management
Operating Partner

John Holbrook
Professor of Geology
Texas Christian University

Yifei (Faye) Liu
CEO and founder, RevoChem LLC

Sarah Pietraszek-Mattner,
Carbon Storage Business Development Manager
ExxonMobil Technology and Engineering Company
CEO, The Science Profession

P. David Polly
Professor and Chair, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Tom Skirvin
Chief Geoscientist, Skirvin Geoscience Consulting

Todd Thompson
Director and State Geologist, Indiana Geological and Water Survey

Emeritus Board Members

Randall Bayless
Research Hydrologist, USGS

John N. Bubb
Retired, ExxonMobil

Craig Davis
INEXS President and CEO

Katherine H. Freeman
Professor of Geosciences
Pennsylvania State University

Derek G. Fullerton
President, Derton Consulting LLC

Stephan A. Graham
Professor, Stanford University

Glen B. Hieshima
Strategic Planning Advisor Americas Region
ExxonMobil Exploration Company

Michael J. Graham
President, Bechtel
Environmental Restoration Program

Robert G. Jones
Executive Director
Indiana Mineral Aggregates Association

Jessica Kogel
Associate Director for Mining
National Institute for Occupational, Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Mark S. Leonard
President, Leonard Exploration, Inc.
COO, Global Deepwater Partners

Jeffrey S. Oslund
Anadarko Petroleum Corporation (retired)

Mary Parke
Manager, Integrated Water Services
Layne Christensen Corporation

Jayne L. Sieverding
Organizational Capability Manager, Earth Sciences
Chevron Energy Technology Company

W. Thomas Straw
Professor Emeritus of Geosciences
Western Michigan University

Kenneth R. Vance
Anadarko Petroleum Corporation

Honorary Life Member

Stanley Anderson
Houston Exploration Company